District 7 Young Authors Recognized for Outstanding Talent

This year, over 800 students in District 7 participated in the Young Author’s competition. On Monday, March 25, District 7 and the Board of Education recognized 48 of these authors that were selected to attend the Madison County Young Authors Conference held at Edwardsville High School on April 27, 2019. Twelve of those authors will then continue on to the 45th Annual Illinois Statewide Conference in Bloomington on May 18, 2019.

District 7 Young Authors Recognized for Outstanding Talent

The students, who have been working on their submissions over the past few months, were evaluated on many different characteristics of their stories. Elementary and Middle School manuscripts were evaluated based on their creativity, their cover and page illustrations, and their idea development. Community volunteers also judged the students’ details and their punctuation/grammar throughout their stories. It was clearly evident that they took this process seriously! We’re sure that one day we will all be reading books from these future published authors!

This year’s stories were creative, well-written and inspirational!

District 7 Representatives
State Representatives are listed with (SR)

Glen Carbon Elementary:
(SR) Caroline Walton (K)
Avery Warner (2)
Reese Wilson (2)
Clara Johnson (2)

Nelson Elementary:
Teagan Smith (K)
(SR) Quinn Egan (1)
Kisa Raza (2)

Columbus Elementary:
(SR) Carmen McLaughlin (3)
Kaylee Hauschild (4)
Karissa Osborn (4)

Worden Elementary:
Megan Fry (3)
(SR) Emerson Gusewelle (4)
Anya Hernandez (5)

Goshen Elementary:
Vivian Brasel (K)
Madison McLeland (1)
(SR) Emorie Bridges (2)

Leclaire Elementary:
Alexis Pigeon (K)
(SR) Finn Smith (1)
Ashlyn Andre (2)

Cassens Elementary:
(SR) Mya Kuba (3)
Avery Riechmann (3)
Shawn Wonders (4)
Leah Harris (4)
Colette Winkler (5)

Woodland Elementary:
(SR) William Nativi (3)
James Gray (4)
Charlotte Sidall (4)
Kaya Goclan (5)

Hamel Elementary:
(SRKatherine Ostrom (1)
Mariah Delap (2)

Midway Elementary:
(SR) Katherine Hall (2)
Hank Hartley (2)

Liberty Middle School:
(SR) Gabby Jesse (8)
Ashley Kim (8)
Emma Knox (8)
Emmy Larrew (8)
Mireille Spicer (8)
Lexi Trimm (8)
Madi Trimm (8)
Alex Walker (8)
Amanda Woolsey (8)

Lincoln Middle School:
Eva Kenn (6)
(SR) Elise Regna (6)
Livia Budwell (8)
Travis Engeman (8)
Eman Rana (8)
Grace Ramsey (8)
Jonathan Stump (8)